Kwanzaa Begins

kwanzaa, african-american culture, heritage

Do you celebrate Kwanzaa? Kwanzaa is the celebration that honors all African-American and African culture and heritage.

There are seven Kwanzaa candles–three red, a black, and three green. The black candle is a celebration of the unique and special qualities each person brings to the whole family or community. It is a candle of the present, of today. The green candles are vision candles–candles of hopes, dreams, and promises for the future. The red candles are struggle candles, candles that represent the past and courage. All seven candles are a symbol of courage.

The Seven Kwanzaa Candles

Each day, a different candle is lit:

The first symbolizes Umoja (unity).
The second is for Kujichagulia (self-determination).
The third symbolizes Ujima (collective work and responsibility).
The fourth symbolizes Ujamaa (cooperative economics).
The fifth is for Nia (purpose).
The sixth symbolizes Kuumba (creativity).
The seventh is for Imani (faith).

Reflect on all of these symbols as this year comes to a close.

Join the Mindful Living CommUNITY® online!


Get stress reducing tips, mindful
living ideas, healthy and easy recipes,
plus exclusive “subscriber-only” content delivered right to your inbox!